THIRTY-FIFTH ANNUAL CONVENTION of COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL SERVICE AGENCY NO. 9 STATE OF WISCONSIN CESA #9 OFFICE TOMAHAWK, WISCONSIN MONDAY, AUGUST 6, 2018 7:00 P.M.

MINUTES

Andy Merry, Chair of the Board of Control, called the Thirty-fifth Annual Convention of Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 9 to order and led the delegates and guests in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chair Merry read the official Convention Notice to those present.

A roll call and certification of representative changes was the next order of business. The roll call read as follows:

Antigo	Andy Merry	Present
Arbor Vitae Woodruff	Tamala Schroeder	Absent
Athens	Shannon Peel	Absent
DC Everest	Helen Ackermann	Present
Edgar	Tess Kaiser	Present
Elcho	Ann Mas	Present
Lac du Flambeau	Melissa Doud	Absent
Lakeland Union HS	Pamela Carroll	Absent
Marathon	Beth Seubert	Present
Merrill	Brett Woller	Present
Minocqua-Hazelhurst-Lake Tomahawk	Tracy Petrie	Absent
Mosinee	Michael Kaiser	Absent
North Lakeland	Kari Moon	Present
Northland Pines	Chris Petreikis	Absent
Phelps	Colleen Pietenpol	Absent
Prentice	Helen Palmquist	Present
Rhinelander	David Holperin	Present
Rib Lake	Jason Dananay	Present
Stratford	Dan Thompson	Present
Three Lakes	Tom Rulseh	Present
Tomahawk	Cherie Krueger	Present
Wausau	Theresa Miles	Present

There was only one delegate present from the Lakeland Area delegates. Kari Moon (North Lakeland) served as the voting delegate.

Motion by Dan Thompson, second by Tom Rulseh to elect Andy Merry as the Convention Chairperson. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Helen Palmquist, second by Helen Ackerman to adopt the Robert's Rules of Order for the Convention. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

The August 1, 2016 Annual Convention minutes were presented. A motion was made by Dan Thompson and seconded by Theresa Miles to accept the minutes as presented. All present voted aye, with one delegate abstaining. Motion carried.

Election of Board of Control members was the next order of business. The election plan was reviewed and vacancies for the various class seats on the Board of Control were announced. Dr. Heldt stated that there were three seats available (one Small, one Large and one At Large).

Those eligible for the Small seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Tess Kaiser, Ann Mas. Colleen Pietenpol was not present and therefore removed from the ballot. Remaining on the ballot: Shanon Peel. Beth Seubert made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Shanon Peel to represent the Small category. Motion was seconded by Jason Dananay. All delegates present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the Large seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Kari Moon, Brett Woller. Tamala Schroeder, Melissa Doud, Pamela Carroll, and Tracy Petrie were not present. Remaining on the ballot: Andy Merry. Motion by Helen Ackermann to cast a unanimous ballot for Helen Ackermann. Second by Theresa Miles. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the At-Large seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Brett Woller, Beth Seubert, Ann Mas, Tess Kaiser, and Kari Moon. Tamala Schroeder, Melissa Doud, Pamela Carroll, Tracy Petrie, Michael Kaiser, and Colleen Pietenpol were not present. Remaining on the ballot: Chris Petreikis. Motion by Tom Rulseh to cast a unanimous ballot for Chris Petreikis. Second by Dan Thompson. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

The 2018 - 2019 Board of Control members are:

Board Member	<u>District</u>	<u>Class</u>	Term Expires
Jason Dananay	Rib Lake	Small	2019
Carol Ballerstein	Stratford	Medium	2019
Theresa Miles	Wausau	Large	2019
Tom Rulseh	Three Lakes	Medium	2019
Helen Ackermann	D.C. Everest	Large	2020
Cherie Krueger	Tomahawk	Medium	2020
Helen Palmquist	Prentice	Small	2020
David Holperin	Rhinelander	At-Large	2020
Chris Petreikis	Northland Pines	At-Large	2021
Andy Merry	Antigo	Large	2021
Shannon Peel	Athens	Small	2021

A suggestion was given that at future conventions, a current Board of Control member should share their perspective on the benefits of serving on the board before elections take place.

Lynn Verage, Wisconsin Safe and Healthy Schools Coordinator, shared a presentation on some of the safety and mental health issues that are at the forefront in school districts at this time. She shared resources that are available for districts through CESA 9 and through the Wisconsin Safe and Healthy Schools Center.

Agency Administrator Karen Wendorf-Heldt presented data highlights from the 2017-18 Annual Report including the District Services Survey results, CESA 9 Organizational Scorecard, Employee Engagement Survey results, workshop participation data, funding sources, Wisconsin Virtual School, Wisconsin Resource Center for Charter Schools, the Excellence in Teaching Program, and the Agency Administrator evaluation by the Board of Control. Dr. Heldt also shared what's ahead in the Agency's quest for continuous quality improvement.

Convention Chair Merry thanked the delegates and stated that the CESA 9 Organizational Meeting would begin after the conclusion of the Annual Convention.

Motion by Theresa Miles, second by Dan Thompson to adjourn the Annual Convention. All aye. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 PM.